The Five Stages Of Grief In The Divorce Process

It is not exaggerating to say that the end of marriage is like losing a beloved family member. In fact, many people experience the stages of grief similar to when a loved one dies. When you are going through this difficult time in your life, it is important that your lawyer understands your feelings and provides you compassionate legal representation.

Compassionate And Dedicated To Your Personal Needs

I am Des Moines area attorney Debra Hockett-Clark. I have been providing family law representation to people throughout Iowa for more than 20 years. Through my decades of experience, I know what you are going through.

I am here to help guide you through the divorce process every step of the way and to address any questions you may have at any time. Schedule your free initial consultation to discuss your situation.

What Are The Five Stages Of Grief In The Divorce Process?

There are five recognized stages of grief that apply to the divorce process:

  1. Shock and denial
  2. Anger
  3. Ambivalence
  4. Depression
  5. Recovery

Grieving is not necessarily a process that proceeds step by step. You may experience one stage of grief or multiple stages of grief at the same time. You may also “move on” from one stage only to later return to a previous stage. Every person processes their emotions differently. The good news is that you will get through this and you do not have to do it alone. I can help you shoulder your burden while I work to resolve your legal disputes and help you achieve your goals as best as I can.

Contact The Hockett-Clark Law Office Today

A divorce is rarely easy. Get the understanding legal representation you need and deserve. Contact me online or call 515-650-4608 to schedule a free initial consultation. For your convenience, all major credit cards are accepted.